In June 2019, the Association of Synergy of Macao filed a report to the CCAC indicating that the Supporting Office to the Permanent Secretariat of the Forum for Economic and Trade Co-operation between China and Portuguese-speaking Countries (GASPF) had hired five people from the Chinese mainland as translators/interpreters under labour contract, raising doubts on violation of the provisions that require priority to be given to local candidates. The association requested the CCAC to investigate the legality of the employment.

It was found in the investigation that since the GASPF consisted of representatives from the Chinese mainland and Portuguese-speaking countries, its main working languages were Mandarin and Portuguese and thus the workload of Chinese/Portuguese translation and interpretation was very heavy. However, due to the unsuccessful attempts of the Supporting Office to expand the translation and interpretation team through blanket recruitment processes and secondment from other public services, in order to build its own professional team of Chinese/Portuguese translation and interpretation for the preparation of the 6th Ministerial Conference of the GASPF, the Supporting Office proposed employing five Chinese/Portuguese translators/interpreters whose mother tongue was Mandarin under labour contract. Eventually, the proposal was approved by the Secretary for Economy and Finance in May 2018.

Subsequently, the Supporting Office sent letters to the Beijing Foreign Studies University and the Shanghai International Studies University to ask for recommendation of graduates in Chinese/Portuguese translation/interpretation or Portuguese language. It formed a jury panel which was then sent to the two universities to conduct a selection process among 16 recommended graduates. Following written exam, oral exam, interview and analysis of resumes, the Supporting Office selected five candidates with the highest scores. Information shows that apart from graduating from the said universities, they had certain work experience in Chinese-Portuguese translation/interpretation and Portuguese language teaching.

For following up the later stages of the recruitment process, the Supporting Office requested the Public Administration and Civil Service Bureau (SAFP) for opinions in accordance with law. The SAFP considered that since there was a lack of Chinese/Portuguese translators/interpreters whose native tongue was Mandarin, the recruitment accorded with the relevant provisions under Law no. 12/2015, Regime on Labour Contract in Public Services. In September 2018, the Supporting Office reported to the Secretary for Economy and Finance on the recruitment process and the opinions of the SAFP and proposed hiring the five successful candidates from the Chinese mainland as Chinese-Portuguese translators/interpreters. The proposal was subsequently approved by the latter.

The complainant opined that the employment of people from the Chinese mainland as Chinese-Portuguese translators/interpreters allegedly violated the provisions on employment of public servants. Regarding the legality of the employment, following the investigation, the CCAC considered that when there is a shortage of professional staff, public services may fill the professional and technical positions with non-locals under labour contract in accordance with Law no. 12/2015, Regime of Labour Contract in Public Services. Since the SAFP, as the public service responsible for coordination and management of affairs of public servants and translation and interpretation, considered that there was a lack of Chinese/Portuguese translators/interpreters whose native tongue was Mandarin, which verified that the employment accorded with the situation of shortage of professional as prescribed in the law. The recruitment process consisted of several screening stages including recommendation by professional education institutions written exam, oral exam, interview and analysis of resumes and finally the successful candidates were selected based on the scores. There were no illegal or irregular circumstances found in the process.

The complainants believed that employment of Chinese/Portuguese translators/interpreters with Mandarin as the native tongue by the Supporting Office might involve language discrimination and be considered as edging out local talents. After investigation, the CCAC found that as the working languages of the GASPF are Mandarin and Portuguese, when translation/interpretation service is needed during activities or visits outside Macao, the translators nurtured in Macao, mainly with Cantonese as their native tongue, would usually need to translate/interpret Mandarin to Cantonese first and Cantonese to Portuguese later, and vice versa. According to the submission of the SAFP, this mode of translation/interpretation is difficult to meet the service needs of the GASPF and the department has the need to hire translators/interpreters with Mandarin as their native tongue.

During the investigation, the SAFP told the CCAC that, due to the language environment of Macao, the Chinese/Portuguese translation/ interpretation degree programmes and in-service training courses have been conducted mainly in Cantonese all along and the interpreters also provide Cantonese/Portuguese translation/interpretation service only. Also, according to the representatives from the Macao Polytechnic Institute, the current translation/interpretation programmes do not have compulsory training and assessment on translation/interpretation between Mandarin and Portuguese. When it comes to state-level meetings and activities, accurate translation/interpretation service is a must. When a translator/interpreter whose native tongue is not Mandarin is required to provide Mandarin/Portuguese translation/interpretation service, which necessitates two different ways of linguistic thinking and application, he will face a certain degree of difficulties. After investigation, the CCAC believed that since Cantonese is the native tongue of the majority of local translators/interpreters, it is technically difficult for them to handle Mandarin/Portuguese translation/interpretation work. Given this situation, the practice of hiring translation/interpreters from the Chinese mainland with Mandarin as their native tongue did not involve language discrimination or edging out local talents.

However, in the CCAC’s opinion, the SAFP’s conclusion that Macao lacks Chinese/Portuguese translators/interpreters was drawn based merely on its experience from daily translation affairs management rather than scientific and transparent methods such as open recruitment processes. This has not only caused the few locals with Mandarin/Portuguese translation/interpretation skills to lose the opportunities of making job applications but also made it difficult to objectively and fully verify whether Macao is really short of the relevant talents.

Moreover, when giving explanations on the recruitment in question, the Supporting Office to the GASPF stressed that “in addition to good translation and interpretation skills, translators/interpreters should be familiar with the affairs of the Chinese mainland”. It neglected the key justification that it is difficult for translators with Cantonese as the native tongue to cope with the Mandarin/Portuguese interpretation work, which gave rise to doubts about the reasonableness of its recruitment. The relevant practice was apparently unsatisfactory, and thus the department should critically review it and make improvements accordingly.

今年6月,傳新澳門協會向廉政公署舉報,指中國與葡語國家經貿合作論壇常設秘書處輔助辦公室以個人勞動合同聘請5名內地人員擔任翻譯工作,質疑有關做法違反優先聘用本地人員的規則,要求廉署就此事件作合法性調查。

經廉署調查,因中葡經貿論壇常設秘書處由中國及葡語國家代表組成,主要工作語言是普通話及葡語,日常中葡語翻譯的工作量龐大。但由於透過統一開考和部門借調增加翻譯員的嘗試落空,為建立一支自身的專業中葡翻譯隊伍,並為第六屆部長級會議做好準備工作,輔助辦公室建議以個人勞動合同聘請5名以普通話為母語的中葡翻譯人員,該建議於2018年5月獲經濟財政司司長批准。

隨後,輔助辦公室致函北京外國語大學及上海外國語大學,希望舉薦具有中葡翻譯或葡語專業學歷的畢業生,並為此成立典試委員會,前往北京及上海對兩所大學推薦的16名畢業生進行甄選。經筆試、口試、面談及履歷分析,輔助辦公室挑選了考獲最高分數的5名畢業生。從資料顯示,相關人員除了在上述大學畢業外,亦在中葡翻譯或葡語教學領域具有一定的工作經驗。

為跟進招聘的後續程序,輔助辦公室按法例規定向行政公職局徵詢意見。行政公職局認為,鑒於本澳缺乏以普通話為母語的中葡翻譯人員,有關的招聘符合第12/2015號法律《公共部門勞動合同制度》的相關規定。2018年9月,輔助辦公室向經濟財政司司長報告有關招聘的經過及行政公職局的意見,建議以個人勞動合同聘請5名內地人員擔任中葡翻譯,有關建議獲經濟財政司司長批准。

投訴人指輔助辦公室聘請內地人員擔任中葡翻譯的做法涉嫌違反招聘公務人員的法律規定。對於招聘的合法性,廉署經調查認為,公共部門在專業人員短缺的情況下,可以按照第12/2015號法律《公共部門勞動合同制度》的規定,以個人勞動合同聘請外地人員擔任專業技術職務。行政公職局作為統籌管理公務員及翻譯事務的部門,認為本澳缺乏以普通話為母語的中葡翻譯人員,因此確認有關招聘符合法律規定的專業人員短缺的情況。此次招聘包括了專業院校推薦、筆試、口試、面談及履歷分析等甄選環節,最後以所得分數的高低作為聘用標準,過程中未見有違法或違規之處。

投訴人認為,輔助辦公室招聘母語為普通話的中葡翻譯人員的做法,有語言歧視、排擠本地人才之嫌。廉署調查發現,中葡經貿論壇常設秘書處的工作語言是普通話及葡語,在舉辦活動、對外出訪而需要進行翻譯時,由於本澳培養的翻譯員主要以廣東話為母語,很多時候需先將普通話譯為廣東話,然後再將廣東話譯為葡語,反之亦然。行政公職局在意見書中指出,這種傳譯模式難以滿足中葡經貿論壇常設秘書處的工作要求,該部門有需要聘請以普通話為母語的翻譯人員。

行政公職局在調查中向廉署表示,基於本澳的語言環境,長期以來開辦的“中葡翻譯”學位課程及在職培訓皆以廣東話為主,翻譯員亦僅提供“廣東話/葡語”的傳譯服務。澳門理工學院的代表亦表示,現時的翻譯課程沒有強制推行“普通話/葡語”的互譯訓練和考核,在國家級別的會議和活動中,必須提供精準的翻譯服務,如要求非以普通話為母語的人進行“普通話/葡語”傳譯,由於涉及兩種語言的思考運用,會有一定的困難。經調查後,廉署認為鑒於本地的翻譯人員主要以廣東話為母語,技術上難以應對“普通話/葡語”的傳譯工作,因此聘用以普通話為母語的內地翻譯人員的做法,並不涉及語言歧視或排擠本地人才。

然而,廉署認為,行政公職局僅透過日常管理翻譯事務的工作經驗,而非透過公開招聘等更科學及公開的方法,來得出本澳缺乏以普通話為母語的中葡翻譯人員的結論,這不僅使少數具備“普通話/葡語”傳譯能力的本地人員失去了投考的機會,而且難以客觀及充分驗證澳門是否確實缺乏相關人才。

此外,中葡經貿論壇常設秘書處輔助辦公室在解釋此次招聘時,強調“翻譯員除具備較高素質的口筆譯技能外,還需熟悉內地事務”,但忽略了以廣東話為母語的翻譯人員難以應對“普通話/葡語”傳譯工作這一核心理據,從而令人對其招聘的合理性產生質疑。相關的做法明顯未如理想,值得部門認真檢討並加以改善。