The CCAC received complaints from some civil associations last year, where the latter expressed their doubts about the process of title obtaining, delineation and area calculation concerning the land parcel at Colina da Ilha Verde (literally known as green island hill). They therefore requested an investigation by the CCAC. The Commissioner Against Corruption, according to Law no. 10/2000 (Organic Law of the Commission Against Corruption), mandated an investigation into the matter through an order. After the investigation, the CCAC believed that there were not adequate signs or evidence to challenge the title established by the relevant property registration as well as the delineation and area of the parcel determined on the relevant cadastral map. When it comes to conservation and planning of the parcel at Colina da Ilha Verde, the government departments responsible failed to strictly adhere to relevant provisions of the Urban Planning Law and the Cultural Heritage Protection Law.

Registration of the parcel at Colina da Ilha Verde

According to the property registration and cadastral records, the parcel at Colina da Ilha Verde consists of the hill itself and the adjacent areas. The parcel, mostly on the hill, has a total area of 56,166 m2 and a land description number 2506. The parcel was first registered in May 1886 – the bishop of the Catholic Diocese of Macau, in the name of property manager of the St. Joseph’s Seminary, applied for the registration to the Real Estate Registry based on a deed documenting the purchase of the parcel by the seminary in March 1828.

According to the relevant property registration record, in May 1886, the St. Joseph’s Seminary leased part of the parcel at Colina da Ilha Verde to Ilha Verde Cement Company Limited for building and operating a cement plant with a term of 25 years. In September 1991, the Diocese of Macau signed a deed with Kong Cheong (Macao) Development and Investment Company Limited (hereinafter referred to as “Kong Cheong Limited”) and sold the parcel with a description no. 2506 to the latter at 95,000,000 patacas. In January 2007, Kong Cheong Limited resold it to the current owner, Wui San Development Company Limited (hereinafter referred to as “Wui San Limited”), at HKD188,300,000.

The title of the parcel at Colina da Ilha Verde

The complainants believed that, according to the relevant historical records, the former Portuguese government of Macao did not occupy and govern Ilha Verde until 1890, and thus they queried the authenticity and validity of the transaction of the parcel at Colina da Ilha Verde in 1828 and the property registration in 1886. After the investigation, the CCAC found no evidence that the deed documenting the purchase of the aforesaid parcel by the St. Joseph’s Seminary and the property registration conducted later were forged or fraudulent. According to Article 7 of the Property Registration Code, the definitive registration constitutes a presumption that the right defined in the registration belongs to the registered owner or entity.

The complainants had doubts about why there were military barracks, blockhouses and warehouses at Colina da Ilha Verde. According to the CCAC’s investigation, in November 1923, the former Portuguese government of Macao wrote to the Diocese of Macau requesting the latter to allow it to build military facilities at Colina da Ilha Verde and send garrisons there. In March 1927, the Portuguese military department wrote to the Diocese of Macau, requesting that part of the parcel and buildings at Colina da Ilha Verde be leased to them. In May 1975, the Portuguese military department handed the leased parcel and buildings over to the former Portuguese government of Macao for administration. In May 1981, the former Portuguese government of Macao terminated the lease contract officially and returned the said parcel and buildings for military purposes to the Diocese of Macau.

After the registration of the parcel at Colina da Ilha Verde in 1886, there was no document or record showing that someone ever brought a lawsuit to the court requesting cancellation of the relevant land transaction or querying the title of the St. Joseph’s Seminary. There were also documents showing that the former Portuguese government of Macao once had discussions and entered into a lease contract with the Diocese of Macau about building military facilities at Colina da Ilha Verde, where the eligibility of the St. Joseph’s Seminary as the owner of the parcel at Colina da Ilha Verde was recognised. Therefore, in view of the principle of legality, the CCAC opines that there have been no adequate signs or evidence to challenge the title established by the relevant property registration. 

The area of the parcel at Colina da Ilha Verde

According to the real estate registration data, the parcel at Colina da Ilha Verde with a description no. 2506 is 56,166 m2 in area. The accuracy in the area calculation was doubted by the complainants. Information shows that the area was not clearly recorded in the original property registration, which only indicated that its circumference was around 1,000 m. In March 1988, the then Department for Cartography and Cadastre carried out an analysis on the area of the parcel. Following the analysis, the department estimated that the parcel should be on the hill in the shape of a circle and calculated the area as 79,580 m2.

According to the analysis conducted by the department, the parcel with a description no. 2506 had been divided three times and its area remained at 56,948 m2. In June 1988, the former Portuguese government of Macao notified the Diocese of Macau of the result of the analysis and requested for opinions from the latter. In July 1988, the latter sent a letter to the former pointing out that there were mistakes in the calculation and measurement of the area and that the parcel with a description no. 2506 should also cover some parcels next to it.

On 27th April 1991, the former Portuguese government of Macao, the Diocese of Macau and the St. Joseph’s Seminary signed an agreement confirming that the parcel with a description no. 2506 was composed of nine plots of land, covering a total area of 70,228 m2, of which the then Department for Cartography and Cadastre made a cadastral map on January 1991. On 11th May 1991, the St. Joseph’s Seminary submitted to the Real Estate Registry the agreement and other documents and applied for separate property registrations of the other eight parcels. Ever since then, the area of the parcel with a description no. 2506 has remained as 56,166 m2.

In accordance with Article 14 of Decree Law no. 3/94/M, cadastral map is sufficient for identification of the location, area and boundary of a property. Following an analysis of relevant documents and information, the CCAC considered that there is no sign showing mistakes or fake parts exist in the cadastral map made by the then Department for Cartography and Cadastre. Therefore, the area of the parcel at Colina da Ilha Verde should be 56,166 m2 as recorded in the real estate registration.

Conservation and planning of the parcel at Colina da Ilha Verde

The complainants also suspected that the government departments failed at the conservation and planning of Colina da Ilha Verde, thus resulting in damage to the hill and landscape. The CCAC found in the investigation that the relevant departments did not strictly comply with the provisions under the Cultural Heritage Protection Law and the Urban Planning Law when dealing with the conservation and planning of Colina da Ilha Verde.

At the request of the former owner of the parcel at Colina da Ilha Verde, Kong Cheong Limited, the public works department issued the street alignment plan of the parcel with a description no. 2506 in December 1997 and August 2005. In August 2011, Wui San Limited, which had already purchased the parcel, submitted the same application. In February 2014, the Land, Public Works and Transport Bureau (DSSOPT) replied that since the parcel was within the area that the Ilha Verde Urbanisation Plan covered, the street alignment plan would not be issued until the plan was finalised.

According to the information obtained by the CCAC, in October 1996, the former Portuguese government of Macao formulated the Research Plan of Urban Regeneration of Ilha Verde, according to which the Ilha Verde district was divided into 26 areas. The plan laid down detailed provisions of the purpose, the permitted building height and other building requirements of each area. In response to social development of Macao, the DSSOPT commenced a study on formulating a new planning in 2008 and completed the Ilha Verde Urbanisation Plan in October 2010. In February 2011, the bureau publicised the urbansation plan and gathered public opinions.

Under the Ilha Verde Urbanisation Plan, the Ilha Verde district is divided into 53 areas for different purposes of development, such as green conservation, public housing, social facilities and commercial and residential zone, etc., while the parcel with a description no. 2506 is divided into eight areas for different purposes. According to the urbanisation plan, part of the hill and the remains of the convent are designated for the purposes of green conservation and public facilities, while part of the hill below the hillside and the areas surrounding the hill are designated for commercial and residential purposes.

Due to entry into force of the Cultural Heritage Protection Law and the fact that Colina da Ilha Verde has been classified as a site with value of cultural heritage, the Ilha Verde Urbanisation Plan no longer accorded with the reality. In August 2014, the DSSOPT commenced the procedure of revising the urbanisation plan. In December 2017, based on the opinions given by the Cultural Affairs Bureau (IC), the bureau made revisions to part of the contents of the urbanisation plan, which expanded the green conservation zone to the entire hill, shrank the areas in which building is permitted and lowered the permitted maximum building height in some of the areas.

However, the DSSOPT has never conducted public consultation on and publicised the aforesaid revisions of the Ilha Verde Urbanisation Plan. The CCAC considered that the urbanisation plan and the “detailed planning” as provided for in the Urban Planning Law are of similar nature and have the same effect. Therefore, the bureau should obtain opinions from the Urban Planning Committee, the general public and the parties concerned in accordance with the “principle of transparency and promotion of public participation” provided by Article 4 of the Urban Planning Law when revising the urbanisation plan and publicise the revisions in an official manner in accordance with the “principle of openness” stipulated by law.

In accordance with Paragraph 2 of Article 64 of the Urban Planning Law, before the overall planning and the detailed planning are implemented, the DSSOPT and other public departments shall continue to adopt the guidelines and principles laid down in existing urban planning and studies on urban planning. The CCAC considered that since Ilha Verde district is actually not a “white zone”, the Ilha Verde Urbanisation Plan still has binding effect in the aspect of planning. In this sense, when assessing the building projects in Ilha Verde district, the public works department should ensure that the building requirements provided for in the urbanisation plan are complied with.

Recently, when the Urban Planning Committee was discussing the urban condition plan of the area at the bottom of Colina da Ilha Verde adjacent to Estrada Marginal Da Ilha Verde, the representative of the DSSOPT pointed out that the draft of the urban condition plan was made based on the Ilha Verde Urbanisation Plan in 2010. The DSSOPT should clearly know that since part of the content of the Ilha Verde Urbanisation Plan in 2010 was obsolete and did not accord with the provisions under the Cultural Heritage Protection Law, it was necessary to revise the urbanisation plan and the relevant works were in progress.

In the CCAC’s opinion, the DSSOPT’s granting of urban condition plans to construction projects before completion of the revision work on the Ilha Verde Urbanisation Plan has contravened the provision under Paragraph 2 of Article 64 of the Urban Planning Law. The practice of approving projects before reviewing the urbanisation plan is simply “putting the cart before the horse” and will inevitably raise doubts about whether or not some acts are “intentionally hasty”. It will also seriously undermine the effectiveness of the urbanisation plan. Such situations contravene the “principle of legality” provided for in Article 4 of the Urban Planning Law.

Regarding the conservation of Colina da Ilha Verde, which has been a subject of concern of various sectors of society, according to the information available to the CCAC, the IC once wrote to the parcel owner Wui San Limited in October 2017, where it pointed out that the convent there fell into disrepair and it therefore requested the company to carry out repair and maintenance works as soon as possible. Later, the IC provided the parcel owner with information such as designs and building materials of the convent at the latter’s request. However, the repair works of the convent have yet to begin. Even an application for a works licence has not been submitted yet.

According to Article 39 of the Cultural Heritage Protection Law, the owner of the classified immovable property must carry out the works that the IC deems necessary after its inspection to ensure the protection of the property. In the event that the works have not been commenced or completed within the scheduled period, the IC may urge mandatory execution under the terms established in the legislation in force, and the respective costs shall be borne by the owner of the property. In the CCAC’s opinion, as the IC is vested with the authority to take adequate and effective means by the law, it should proactively motivate and even carry out the relevant repair works and faithfully shoulder the statutory responsibility for safeguarding the cultural heritage. It should not allow Colina da Ilha Verde, the convent and the other structures there to remain haphazard and in such disrepair.

廉政公署去年收到社團的投訴,指青洲山的土地取得業權、劃定範圍及計算面積的過程存有疑問,要求廉署介入調查。廉政專員根據第10/2000號法律《廉政公署組織法》的規定,批示對此事展開調查。廉署經調查後認為,沒有足夠的跡象或證據推翻物業登記所確立的業權以及地籍圖所劃定的土地範圍及面積,但對於青洲山地段的保育及規劃,政府專責部門未有嚴格遵守《文化遺產保護法》及《城市規劃法》的相關規定。

青洲山地段的物業登記

根據物業登記及地籍資料,青洲山地段由山體和山邊以外的土地組成,其中山體占大部分,面積為56,166平方米,物業標示編號為2506。該地段最早的登記是1886年5月,由天主教澳門教區主教以聖若瑟修院財產管理人的身份向物業登記局申請而作成,所依據的文件是1828年3月聖若瑟修院購買該地段的公證書。

根據物業登記資料,1886年5月,聖若瑟修院將青洲山部分土地租予青洲混凝土有限公司興建和營運水泥廠,租約期限為25年;1991年9月,澳門教區與江昌(澳門)實業發展有限公司簽署公證書,以澳門幣95,000,000元將標示編號2506的土地出售給該公司;2007年1月,江昌(澳門)實業發展有限公司將上述土地以港幣188,300,000元轉售予現時的業權人滙新發展有限公司。

青洲山地段的土地業權

投訴人認為,據史料記載,澳葡政府於1890年才實際占有和管治青洲,從而質疑青洲山土地1828年交易及1886年物業登記的真實性及有效性。經廉署調查,並無證據證明當年聖若瑟修院購買青洲山土地的公證書以及後來的物業登記存在偽造或虛假的情況。按照《物業登記法典》第7條規定,登記一經確定,法律便會推定有關人士或實體擁有登記載明的權利。

投訴人質疑為何在青洲山上會建有軍營、碉堡、倉庫等軍事設施。廉署調查發現,1923年11月,澳葡政府去信澳門教區,請求容許政府在青洲山地段興建軍事設施和派駐部隊人員;1927年3月,葡萄牙軍事部門去信澳門教區,要求教區將青洲山的部分地段及建築物租予軍方使用;1975年5月,葡萄牙軍事部門將租用地段及建築物交給澳葡政府管理;1981年5月,澳葡政府正式終止租賃合同,將用於軍事用途的青洲山地段及相關建築物交回澳門教區。

自從1886年青洲山土地登記之後,沒有文件或記錄顯示有人曾經向法院提起訴訟,要求撤銷有關土地的交易,或對聖若瑟修院的業權提出質疑。此外,有文件顯示澳葡政府為在青洲山興建軍事設施曾與澳門教區磋商並簽訂租約,承認聖若瑟修院對青洲山土地具有業權人的資格。因此,基於合法性原則,廉署認為現時沒有足夠的跡象或證據推翻物業登記所確立的業權。

青洲山地段的土地面積

根據物業登記,標示編號2506的青洲山土地的面積為56,166平方米,投訴人對面積的準確性提出質疑。根據資料顯示,最初的物業登記沒有明確記錄土地的面積,但註明地段的圓周長度約為1,000米。1988年3月,地圖繪製暨地籍司對土地面積進行分析,推斷土地的形狀應為圍繞山體的圓形,並計算出土地的面積為79,580平方米。

根據地籍司的分析,由於標示編號2506的土地曾經進行過三次分割,剩餘的面積約為56,948平方米。1988年6月,澳葡政府將地籍司的分析結果告知澳門教區並徵詢意見。1988年7月,澳門教區致函澳葡政府,表示土地面積的計算和測量有誤,標示編號2506的土地應該還包括旁邊的土地。

1991年4月27日,澳葡政府、澳門教區及聖若瑟修院三方簽署協議,確認標示編號2506的土地由9幅地塊組成,總面積為70,228平方米,而地籍司曾為此於1991年1月編製了地籍圖。1991年5月11日,聖若瑟修院向物業登記局遞交協議及其他文件,申請將其中的8幅地塊分割成為獨立的物業登記,而標示編號2506的土地的剩餘面積減至56,166平方米。

按照第3/94/M號法令第14條的規定,地籍圖為不動產位置、面積及邊界的充分憑證。經分析相關文件及資料後,廉署認為無跡象顯示地籍司1991年1月編製的標示編號2506土地的地籍圖存在虛假、錯誤之處,因此青洲山地段的面積應為物業登記所載的56,166平方米。

青洲山地段的保育和規劃

投訴人還質疑政府部門對青洲山的保育不力及規劃不周,對山體及景觀造成破壞。廉署調查發現,政府相關部門的確存在未嚴格按照《文化遺產保護法》及《城市規劃法》的規定處理青洲山的保育及規劃的情況。

應青洲山地段原業權人江昌(澳門)實業發展有限公司的申請,工務部門於1997年12月及2005年8月發出標示編號2506土地的街道準線圖。2011年8月,已購入該地段的滙新發展有限公司申請發出街道準線圖。2014年2月,工務局回覆表示,由於該地段屬“青洲都市化整治計劃”研究範圍內,在有關計劃定案前,未能發出街道準線圖。

根據廉署取得的資料,1996年10月,澳葡政府曾經制定“青洲區重整研究計劃”,將青洲區劃分為26個地段,對每一地段的用途、可建高度及其他建築條件作出詳細規定;因應澳門社會的發展,工務局從2008年開始研究制定新的規劃,2010年10月完成“青洲都市化整治計劃”,2011年2月對外公佈及聽取公眾的意見。

“青洲都市化整治計劃”將青洲區劃分為53個地段,各個地段有不同的發展用途,例如綠化保護、公共房屋、社會設施及商住用地等,其中標示編號2506的土地被劃分為8個不同用途的地段。有關“整治計劃”將部分青洲山山體及修道院遺址作綠化保護區及公共設施用途,亦將部分山腰以下的山體及山體以外的土地列為商住用途。

因應《文化遺產保護法》生效及青洲山被評定為具文化遺產價值的場所,“青洲都市化整治計劃”已不符合實況,工務局於2014年8月啟動修改“整治計劃”的程序。2017年12月,工務局根據文化局的意見修訂了“整治計劃”的部分內容,將綠化保護區擴大至整個青洲山山體,縮減了容許興建建築物的土地範圍,降低了部分地段建築物的最大許可高度。

但是,工務局上述對“青洲都市化整治計劃”的修訂,既未進行公開諮詢,也未對外正式公佈。廉署認為,“整治計劃”與《城市規劃法》中規定的“詳細規劃”性質相似、作用相同,因此其內容的修訂須按照法律第4條規定的“透明和促進公眾參與原則”,聽取城市規劃委員會、公眾及持份者的意見,並須按照法律規定的“公開原則”,正式對外公佈。

根據《城市規劃法》第64條第2款的規定,在總體規劃及詳細規劃生效前,工務局以及其他公共部門繼續沿用現存的城市規劃及城市規劃研究的指引及原則。廉署認為,青洲區本身不是“白區”,“青洲都市化整治計劃”在規劃層面仍有約束力,工務部門在審批青洲區的建築項目時,必須確保“整治計劃”所訂定的建築條件得到遵循。

日前城市規劃委員會討論青洲山腳鄰近青洲河邊馬路的土地的規劃條件圖時,工務局代表曾經指出,該規劃條件圖草案是在2010年“青洲都市化整治計劃”的基礎上編製。工務局本身應十分清楚,由於2010年“青洲都市化整治計劃”部分內容不合時宜且不符合《文化遺產保護法》的規定,必須依法作出修訂,而且相關的工作正在進行中。

廉署認為,工務局未完成“青洲都市化整治計劃”的修訂就批出建築項目的規劃條件圖,違反了《城市規劃法》第64條第2款的規定,這種未檢討規劃先批准項目的做法不僅本末倒置,難免令人產生“偷步”的質疑,而且會導致規劃的效力大打折扣,不符合《城市規劃法》第4條規定的“合法性原則”。

另外,關於社會各界關注的青洲山的保育問題,據廉署掌握的資料顯示,文化局曾於2017年10月去函地段業權人滙新發展有限公司,指修道院的建築缺乏維修保養,要求該公司儘快展開修復及保養工程。其後,文化局應業權人的要求提供了修道院的設計圖紙、建築材質等資訊,但直至現時為止,修道院的維修工程仍未展開,甚至連工程准照的申請仍未遞交。

按照《文化遺產保護法》第39條的規定,被評定的不動產的所有權人應實施文化局經查驗後認為對保護該等不動產屬必要的工程,如工程未能依期開展或完成,文化局可按現行法例的規定促成強制實施,有關費用由所有權人承擔。廉署認為,既然法律已賦予文化局充足及有效的手段,文化局便應積極推動以至實施相關的修復工程,切實承擔起保護文化遺產的法定義務,而不能任由青洲山以及修道院等建築繼續處於雜亂無章、殘破不堪的狀態。