Under Law no. 10/2000 republished under Law no. 4/2012, the Commission Against Corruption aims, within its scope of activity, at:

  1. Taking actions to prevent and combat crimes of corruption and related fraud crimes within the activities of the public sector and of the private sector;

  2. Carrying out acts of investigation or inquiry with regard to crimes of corruption and related fraud crimes committed by public servants, in compliance with the penal legislation and the penal procedure legislation, without prejudice to the powers granted by law to other bodies;

  3. Carrying out acts of investigation or inquiry with regard to crimes of corruption and related fraud crimes committed within the private sector, in compliance with the penal legislation and the penal procedure legislation, without prejudice to the powers granted by law to other bodies;

  4. Carrying out acts of investigation or inquiry with regard to crimes of corruption and related fraud crimes committed in relation to electoral registration and to the elections of members of the institutions of the Macao Special Administrative Region, in compliance with the penal legislation and the penal procedure legislation, without prejudice to the powers granted by law to other bodies;

  5. Performing ombudsman activities by promoting the protection of the rights, freedoms, safeguards and legitimate interests of the individuals, and ensuring the legality in the exercise of public authority, as well as justice and efficiency in the public administration, through the means referred to under the law and other informal means.

按照經第4/2012號法律重新公佈的第10/2000號法律,廉政公署的職責為:

  1. 開展預防及遏止在公共部門及私營部門發生貪污犯罪及與貪污相關聯的欺詐犯罪的行動;
  2. 針對由公務員實施的貪污犯罪及與貪污相關聯的欺詐犯罪,依刑法及刑事訴訟法進行調查及偵查,但不影響法律賦予其他機構就該等事宜進行調查或偵查的職責;
  3. 針對在私營部門發生的貪污犯罪及與貪污相關聯的欺詐犯罪,依刑法及刑事訴訟法進行調查及偵查,但不影響法律賦予其他機構就該等事宜進行調查或偵查的職責;
  4. 針對在因應澳門特別行政區機關選舉而進行的選民登記及有關選舉中實施的貪污犯罪及與貪污相關聯的欺詐犯罪,依刑法及刑事訴訟法進行調查及偵查,但不影響法律賦予其他機構就該等事宜進行調查或偵查的職責;
  5. 執行行政申訴工作,以促使人的權利、自由、保障及正當利益得到保護,並透過法律所指途徑及其他非正式途徑,確保行使公權力的合法性及公共行政的公正與效率。