In June 2019, the CCAC received a report from “workers of the Policy Research and Regional Development Bureau”, who mentioned a number of irregular acts carried out by Mi Jian as the Director of the Policy Research and Regional Development Bureau (DSEPDR) and as the Chief of the former Policy Research Office and requested for the CCAC’s investigation. Following the investigation, the CCAC considered that most of the allegations mentioned in the report were unable to be substantiated or did not constitute a violation of law. However, the DSEPDR has hired workers without going through open recruitment processes. Such practices did not accord with the principles of fairness and openness set up in the legal regime of recruitment of public servants of the Macao SAR.

A number of complaints were mentioned in the report, including Mi’s attitude towards other people, asking others to address himself as “professor” all the time, splitting the contracts in order to circumvent the regulations on public tendering, concocting various pretexts for study tours abroad, redoing the signboard of the bureau, placing table tennis table in the office and smoking in the office, etc. It was found in the investigation that some of the complaints were groundless and therefore did not involve illegality or irregularity, while some were obviously beyond the scope of the CCAC’s jurisdiction over investigation of power abuse or administrative illegality.

The report alleged that Mi rent an upscale apartment with public money. The CCAC found in the investigation that the housing subsidy received by Mi was higher than the amount provided for in Law no.2/2011 (Regime of Seniority Premium, Housing Subsidy and Family Subsidy) when he was a principal adviser of the former Policy Research Office under a labour contract. According to the law, employees hired under a labour contract may enjoy benefits different from those for general public servants, so the practice in question did not contravene the law. After taking up the positions as Chief of the former Policy Research Office and Director of the DSEPDR, he has been hired under fixed-term appointment in lieu of the labour contract, which means the salaries and benefits to be received shall follow the general regulations of the civil service laws. Therefore, the housing subsidy received by him has changed to an amount equal to 40 salary points.

According to the report, Mi allegedly practiced cronyism by hiring his PhD students to work in the service without having them go through open recruitment processes. The CCAC found in the investigation that the former Policy Research Office and the DSEPDR did once hire a few researchers under labour contracts who were exempted from going through the open recruitment processes. They were among the six personnel mentioned in the complaint letter. The CCAC also found that the six researchers knew Mi or somehow had connection with him before the employment. Some were Mi’s PhD students, some were candidates recommended by his former colleagues, and some were people he met in the academic seminars.

During the investigation, the directors and chiefs of the DSEPDR disclosed to the CCAC that, due to the special nature of the work of the Bureau, they have very demanding requirements on the quality of researchers. The candidates must hold a doctoral degree and have the relevant work experience. Moreover, they may only be employed after they have passed a stringent background check. As the civil service laws set forth that a bachelor’s degree is one of the qualification requirements for the post of senior officer, the DSEPDR believed, after consultation with the Public Administration and Civil Service Bureau (SAFP), that it was impossible to recruit the relevant researchers through the central recruitment system. As a result, its researchers have all along been hired under labour contracts and without being subject to open recruitment processes.

During the recruitment of researchers, duties were delineated according to the types of work to be performed. The principal adviser Mi was responsible for identifying researchers in the fields of politics and law. Mi told the CCAC that, not long after the establishment of the former Policy Research Office, it had tried to look for qualified policy and law researchers in Macao but did not succeed. After discussion with the SAFP and approval of the superior, the former Policy Research Office started to look for suitable candidates in other places.

Local candidates were given priority when selecting researchers and non-locals would be considered only when there was a lack of local candidates. Mi stated that he chose suitable candidates through different methods. Among the candidates, some were his former PhD students, some were recommended by his former colleagues or students, while some candidates were the scholars he met when attending academic seminars. Having asked them if they were interested in the jobs, Mi requested them to send their resumes to the former Policy Research Office in order to conduct recruitment process.

For this purpose, a jury panel comprising the former Chief, the Deputy Chief and the principal adviser of the former Policy Research Office were formed and the relevant candidates were invited to take part in the recruitment process. The selection methods adopted were determined by the jury panel. The recruitment process consisted of interview, while written exam might be given depending on whether the jury panel deemed it necessary to test their writing skills. Subsequently, the former Chief drew up a proposal for employment of the passing candidates. Information shows that all of the invited candidates had passed the recruitment process and were employed by the former Policy Research Office eventually.

Following the analysis, the CCAC considered that although the former Policy Research Office’s employment of the researchers under labour contracts without going through open recruitment processes was not illegal, there were defects in the method of the selection of the candidates and it did not comply with the principles of fairness and openness provided for in the legal regime of recruitment of public servants, which inevitably gave rise to doubts about cronyism. In addition, among the workers hired by the DSEPDR without going through open recruitment processes, not all of them were researchers. In fact, some of them were administration and finance workers. Therefore, there was no sufficient justification for the exemption of open recruitment. In the CCAC’s opinion, the DSEPDR should thoroughly reflect on its recruitment processes, strictly abide by the regulations on open recruitment provided by the legal regime of the public service and put an end to the abuse of the mechanism of exemption of open recruitment.

今年6月,廉政公署收到下款为“政发局工作人员”的举报信,列举了米健在担任政策研究和区域发展局局长及前政策研究室主任期间的多项不规则行为,要求廉署进行调查。经调查后,廉署认为举报信的大部分内容无法证实或不构成违法,但政发局以非公开方式招聘人员的做法,不符合公务人员招聘法律制度所倡导的公平、公开原则。

举报信提到的多个事项,包括米健对待他人的态度、平时惯用“教授”的称呼、分拆外判课题规避招标、巧立名目外出考察、重复制作部门招牌、在局内摆放乒乓球台、在办公室内吸烟等,有的经查投诉内容与事实不符,不存在违法或违规情况,有的明显不属于廉政公署有关滥用职权或行政违法的调查权限范围。

关于举报信指米健使用公帑租住高级公寓的问题,廉署经调查发现,米健在前政研室以个人劳动合同方式担任首席顾问时,其收取的房屋津贴高于第2/2011号法律《年资奖金、房屋津贴及家庭津贴制度》规定的金额。但由于法律规定个人劳动合同可订定有别于一般公务人员所享有的待遇,因此有关的做法并不违法。此外,米健在担任前政研室主任及政发局局长后,其聘用方式由个人劳动合同变为定期委任,薪俸及福利待遇适用公职法律的一般规定,所以改为收取薪俸点40点的房屋津贴。

关于举报信指米健任人唯亲,未经开考招收自己的研究生进入部门工作的问题,廉署调查发现,前政研室及政发局确实曾以免除公开开考的方式,透过个人劳动合同聘请多名研究员,当中包括举报信所指的6名人员。廉署的调查还发现,这6名研究员在入职前与米健相识或有一定的交集,当中有的曾是他的博士研究生,有的是经他过往的同事推荐,有的是他在参加学术研讨会时相识。

调查中,政发局的领导及主管向廉署表示,由于该局的工作性质特殊,对研究人员的素质要求非常高,不仅需要拥有博士学位及相关工作经验,而且在通过严格的背景审查后方可入职。由于公职法律规定高级技术员的入职学历要求是学士学位,经征询行政公职局意见后,前政研室认为无法以中央招聘的方式聘请相关的研究人员,所以长期以来都是透过免除公开开考并以个人劳动合同的方式进行招聘。

前政研室在招聘研究人员时,按照工作分工,首席顾问米健负责物色政治法律范畴的研究人员。米健向廉署表示,在政研室成立之初,曾尝试在本澳物色符合资格的政策法律范畴研究人员但不成功,经与行政公职局商议并经上级同意后,前政研室开始在外地寻找合适的研究人员。

在挑选研究人员时,会优先考虑澳门本地居民,只有在欠缺合适的人选时,才会考虑非本地居民。米健表示会透过不同方式挑选合适的应聘者,有的是在他曾指导的博士研究生中挑选,有的是通过过往同事或学生而推荐,有的是在过去曾参加的学术研讨会中相识的学者中挑选。在征询获挑选人员的入职意向后,米健会要求他们向前政研室寄送履历,以便展开招聘程序。

为了落实招聘事宜,前政研室主任、副主任及首席顾问会组成典试委员会,邀请有关的应聘者参加入职考核。考核的方式一定包含面试,至于笔试则视乎典试委员会认为是否有需要测试应聘者的文笔而定。经考核成绩合格者,前政研室主任会撰写报告建议聘请。据数据显示,所有获邀参加考核的人员均取得合格的成绩,并最终都成功获前政研室招聘入职。

廉署经分析后认为,虽然前政研室不经公开开考以个人劳动合同聘请专业研究人员的做法并未违法,但是挑选应聘者的方式存有缺陷,不符合公务人员招聘法律制度所倡导的公平、公开原则,难免使公众产生任人唯亲的质疑。此外,政发局内未经公开开考入职的人员中,并非全部都是从事研究工作的人员,其中包括担任行政财政工作的人员,当中未见豁免公开开考的充足理据。廉署认为,政发局应深刻检讨人员的招聘程序,严格遵从公职法律有关公开招聘的规定,坚决杜绝滥用豁免开考机制情况的发生。